top of page

Lakeside Round 1 Recap

As suspected the racing was fierce and a very high standard right from the first green flag! Peter Baguley again had his Torana running on song picking up the first pole position for 2024. All 4 championship races seen Peter battle to the chequered flag with Grahame Wrobel's Mustang with both sharing the honors of seeing the flag first. Grant Wilson toke some time getting a handle on his newly built fastback Mustang but boy he got in moving to pick up third in all 4 championship races to round out the Lakeside Round Trophy Winners list! Unfortunately mechanical faults seen Bruce Dummit, Troy Stark & Garry Edwards Torana's all leave the line up early followed by more mechanical failures for Steve Scales Camaro & David Waddingtons Cortina bowing out in race 2.


1st - Graham Wrobel
2nd - Pete Baguley
3rd - Grant Wilson

Race 2, the reverse grid Repco Challenge Race added a new spin to the race meeting in Round 1. This was a 6 lap race with the winners deemed by a regularity format of having the most consistent lap times for 3 consecutive laps. With Repco vouchers up for grabs for the first 3 place getters, this concept through out some unusual but welcomed change in trophy winners with Rob James Capri being most consistent followed by Peter England's Cortina & rounded out by Will Colton's little Lotus Cortina.

     Best Presented Car - Noel Wicks                Best Racer Driver - Chris McIIwain

Race 1

Race 2 - Repco Challenge Race

Race 3

Race 4

Race 5

bottom of page